Connect with us


Alex Dieringer Wins Dan Hodge Trophy



Coming off his third NCAA championship victory, Oklahoma State’s Alex Dieringer has been awarded the 2016 WIN Magazine/Culture House Dan Hodge Trophy.

Since the creation of the Hodge trophy in 1995, only one other Cowboy, Steve Mocco (2005), has ever won the award.

Ironically, the Dan Hodge award is named after the former University of Oklahoma wrestler who won three NCAA national championships and never allowed a takedown in his entire college career.

“The award went to the right guy,” wrestling coach John Smith told WIN. This has been his No. 1 goal all year.”

The Hodge trophy is the most prestigious individual honor in college wrestling, also coined as “The Heisman trophy of wrestling.”

Your thoughts, Alex?

Dieringer finishes his career at OSU with an incredible 133-4 overall record, and 19-1 at the NCAA’s. He’ll go down as one of the greatest to ever sport the orange and black.

And John Smith knows it, too. “We just got to watch what I consider one of the top five greatest Oklahoma State wrestlers ever.”

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media