Connect with us


Chuba Hubbard a Semifinalist for Walter Camp POY, Doak Walker Awards

Chuba makes the cut for a couple of *other* awards.



The #HubbardforHeisman train is picking up some actual steam, but even if he does get an invite to New York, Chuba Hubbard is going to be a longshot to pick up any hardware. There are, however, a couple of other national awards that Chuba is in serious contention for — one of which he should be the front runner to take home.

On Thursday, Chuba was announced as a semifinalist for both the Walter Camp Player of the Year and Doak Walker awards. The former is given to college football’s top player and the latter to its top running back.

Here are the 20 semifinalists for the Walter Camp Award.

Joe Burrow, QB — LSU
Ja’Marr Chase, WR — LSU
AJ Dillon, RB — Boston College
JK Dobbins, RB — Ohio State
Travis Etienne, RB — Clemson
Justin Fields, QB — Ohio State
Justin Herbert, QB — Oregon
Chuba Hubbard, RB — Oklahoma State
Tyler Huntley, QB — Utah
Jalen Hurts, QB — Oklahoma
Cee Dee Lamb, WR — Oklahoma
Trevor Lawrence, QB — Clemson
Micah Parsons, LB — Penn State
Kyle Pitts, TE — Florida
Isaiah Simmons, LB — Clemson
Devonta Smith, WR — Alabama
D’Andre Swift, RB — Georgia
Jonathan Taylor, RB — Wisconsin
Antoine Winfield, DB — Minnesota
Chase Young, DE — Ohio State

And here’s the list for the Doak Walker by each running back’s current rushing totals.

Chuba Hubbard — Oklahoma State (1,726)
Jonathan Taylor — Wisconsin (1,463)
AJ Dillon — Boston College (1,451)
Travis Etienne — Clemson (1,335)
JK Dobbins — Ohio State (1,289)
LeVante Bellamy — Western Michigan (1,284)
Kenneth Gainwell — Memphis (1,166)
Xavier Jones — SMU (1,063)
Clyde Edwards-Helaire — LSU (958)
Zack Moss — Utah (955)

Wisconsin’s Taylor — the closest to catching Hubbard, but averaging 26 less yards per game — won the Walker Award last season.

A list of five Walter Camp finalists will be released on Dec., 5 with the winner being announced on ESPN’s SportsCenter on Dec. 12. The Doak Walker Award winner will be announced the same day as part of The Home Depot College Football
Awards, also on ESPN.

Barry Sanders is the only Cowboy to win the Walter Camp Player of the Year. OSU has yet boast a Doak Walker Award winner. Kendall Hunter was a finalist in 2010.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media