Connect with us


Chuba Hubbard Named Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year

Both members of OSU’s backfield picked up Big 12 honors.



For the seventh time in program history, Oklahoma State boasts its conference’s Offensive Player of the Year.

Chuba Hubbard was awarded the honor, the Big 12 announced Wednesday. The Cowboys’ running back joins Terry Miller (1976, 1977), Thurman Thomas (1985), Barry Sanders (1988) and Justin Blackmon (2010) as Cowboys to win their conferences Offensive Player of the Year.

A finalist for the Doak Walker, Hubbard leads the nation with 1,936 rushing yards, a number that leads the conference by 719 yards. He has 21 rushing touchdowns and another 183 receiving yards.

OSU’s honors didn’t stop with Hubbard, though. Cowboy quarterback Spencer Sanders was named the Big 12 Offensive Freshman of the Year.

Before missing the past two games with a thumb injury, Sanders threw for 2,065 yards and 16 touchdowns in his first year with the reigns of the Cowboys’ offense. Sanders also ran for 625 yards and two scores.

Hubbard and safety Kolby Harvell-Peel were named to the All-Big 12 first team. Harvell-Peel was also an honorable mention for the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, an honor that went to Baylor defensive tackle James Lynch.

Three Cowboys made the second team: Tylan Wallace, Amen Ogbongbemiga and Malcolm Rodriguez.

Despite playing in just eight games, Wallace put up a ridiculous junior season. He had 903 receiving yards and eight touchdowns. Wallace’s yardage total was behind only Devin Duvernay, CeeDee Lamb and Denzel Mims in the Big 12.

Ogbongbemiga and Rodriguez performed admirably in their first seasons as starting linebackers. Rodriguez’s 94 total tackles ranked fourth in the Big 12, and Ogbongbemiga was just a slot behind in fifth with his 88 tackles.

Many Cowboys also received honorable mentions. Those Pokes are Matt Ammendola, Israel Antwine, Trace Ford, A.J. Green, Tom Hutton, Teven Jenkins, Marcus Keyes, Tre Sterling, Dillon Stoner, Johnny Wilson and Jelani Woods.

Big 12 Honors

Offensive Player of the Year — Chuba Hubbard, RB, Oklahoma State
Defensive Player of the Year — James Lynch, DL, Baylor
Offensive Newcomer of the Year — Jalen Hurts, QB, Oklahoma
Defensive Newcomer of the Year — LaRon Stokes, DL, Oklahoma
Offensive Freshman of the Year — Spencer Sanders, QB, Oklahoma State
Defensive Freshman of the Year — Ar’Darius Washington, DB, TCU
Special Teams Player of the Year — Joshua Youngblood, KR/PR, Kansas State
Co-Offensive Linemen of the Year — Creed Humphrey, Oklahoma and Colton McKivitz, West Virginia
Defensive Lineman of the Year — James Lynch, Baylor
Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year — Matt Rhule, Baylor

All-Big 12 Offense
Pos. Player School
QB Jalen Hurts Oklahoma
RB Pooka Williams Jr. Kansas
RB Chuba Hubbard Oklahoma State
FB Nick Lenners K-State
WR Denzel Mims Baylor
WR CeeDee Lamb Oklahoma
WR Devin Duvernay Texas
TE Charlie Kolar Iowa State
OL Julian Good-Jones Iowa State
OL Hakeem Adeniji Kansas
OL Creed Humphrey Oklahoma
OL Zach Shackelford Texas
OL Colton McKivitz West Virginia
PK Jonathan Song TCU
KR/PR Joshua Youngblood K-State
All-Big 12 Defense
Pos. Player School
DL James Lynch Baylor
DL Bravvion Roy Baylor
DL Wyatt Hubert K-State
DL Ross Blacklock TCU
DL Darius Stills West Virginia
LB Kenneth Murray Oklahoma
LB Garret Wallow TCU
LB Jordyn Brooks Texas Tech
DB Greg Eisworth Iowa State
DB Kolby Harvell-Peel Oklahoma State
DB Jeff Gladney TCU
DB Trevon Moehrig TCU
DB Douglas Coleman Texas Tech
P Austin McNamara Texas Tech

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media