Connect with us


Justin Campbell Throws No-Hitter as OSU Baseball Throttles Jayhawks

Just the ninth no-no in program history.



[Photo via @CowboyBaseball/Twitter]

No-hitters have been a somewhat regular occurrence in Major League Baseball this season, but Justin Campbell threw just the ninth in Cowboy history Saturday.

Oklahoma State thumped Kansas 19-0 in Lawrence, as Campbell threw OSU’s first no-hitter since Joe Giordanella had a seven-inning no-no against Oklahoma in 1985.

Campbell, a second-year freshman, threw the full nine innings where he stuck out 11. He was an eighth-inning walk away from a perfect game. It’s just the third no-hitter from a Cowboy pitcher in a game that lasted nine innings.

Player Innings Opponent Date
Jim Wixson 9 North Carolina June 20, 1960
Bill Dobbs 7 Iowa State May 19, 1967
Bob Richardson 9 Houston April 1968
Jim Jacobsen 5 Houston March 20, 1972
Dennis Livingston 7 Kansas State April 11, 1983
Mike Henneman 7 Iowa State March 24, 1984
John Farrell 7 Missouri Southern April 24, 1984
Joe Giordanella 7 Oklahoma April 1, 1985
Justin Campbell 9 Kansas May 8, 2021

Campbell entered the game in a comfortable spot, as OSU led 9-0 before he even got to the mound in the bottom of the first inning.

The Cowboys put up the first-inning nine-piece on six hits, none of which were home runs. Cade Cabbiness, Caeden Trenkle and Jake Thompson all had two-RBI singles in the frame.

The Pokes then put up another three in the second inning. The three runs came off back-to-back-to-back hits with an Alix Garcia RBI double, a Trenkle RBI double and a Max Hewitt RBI single.

The Cowboys’ final six runs came via home run. Hueston Morrill hit a solo shot in the sixth. Nick DeNicola and Carson McCusker hit solo home runs in the seventh, and DeNicola hit his second round-tripper in as many at-bats in the eighth when he hit a three-run bomb.

Nine OSU batters had an RBI on Saturday, with seven having multiple.

Through two games in Lawrence, the Cowboys have combined to win 31-4. The series finale is set to start at 1 p.m. Sunday.

Most Read