Connect with us


Kolby Harvell-Peel on Bednarik Watch List for Nation’s Top Defender

OSU has never had a Bednarik winner.



College football season feels like it’s on thin ice, but if and when it does happen, Kolby Harvell-Peel will enter it as one of the nation’s top defenders.

On Monday, the Maxwell Football Club announced the watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given annually to college football’s top defender. Harvell-Peel is one of 90 players on the watch list and one of nine from the Big 12.

The other Big 12ers on the list are Baylor’s Terrel Bernard, Iowa State’s Greg Eisworth, Kansas State’s Wyatt Hubert, TCU’s Trevon Moehrig, Texas’ Joseph Ossai, Oklahoma’s Ronnie Perkins, West Virginia’s Darius Sills and TCU’s Garret Wallow.

Harvell-Peel was an All-Big 12 first-team selection as a sophomore in 2019. He finished the season third on his team in tackles with 71. He led the Cowboys with five interceptions, 13 pass breakups, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. He also had a sack and three tackles for loss.

He had three multiple-turnover games in 2019. Against Texas, Harvell-Peel had a forced fumble, a fumble recovery and an interception. Against TCU, he had a fumble recovery and two interceptions. Against Kansas, he had two interceptions.

Harvell-Peel also recorded six pass breakups against Iowa State last year, the most in a game in program history.

The Bednarik has been awarded annually since 1995. Ohio State’s Chase Young won the award last season. No Oklahoma State player has every received the honor.

As things stand now, the award’s semifinalist will be announced Nov. 3, three finalists will be announced Nov. 23 and the winner will be announced Dec. 10.

Most Read