Connect with us


Oklahoma State Clinches Record Eighth Straight Big 12 Wrestling Title

Eight straight.



Without four Cowboys even taking to the mat in their Big 12 finals on Sunday evening, the Cowboys are again Big 12 champs.

Oklahoma State clinched its eighth straight Big 12 title Sunday in Tulsa after four OSU wrestlers picked up third-places finishes in their weight classes in Sunday morning’s session. It’s the first time since 1921-28 (that’s 100 years ago!) that the Cowboys have won eight conference crowns in a row.

In total, OSU went 9-0 in the first session of the day, as Dusty Hone, Joe Smith, Anthony Montalvo and Dakota Geer all wrestled to bronze. Reece Witcraft also won his seventh-place match at 133 pounds.

Nick Piccininni, Boo Lewallen, Wyatt Sheets and Travis Wittlake will wrestle in Sunday evening’s tournament finals.

Here is a look at the team standings entering the finals.

1. Oklahoma State – 135.5*
2. Iowa State – 108.5
3. Northern Iowa – 101.5
4. South Dakota State – 94
5. North Dakota State – 86.5

*It should be noted that OSU could in theory not win but only if they lose team points, which is incredibly rare and likely will not happen.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media