Connect with us


Ollie Gordon Becomes Oklahoma State’s 21st Consensus All-American

Gordon is OSU’s first consensus All-American since Chuba Hubbard.



[Devin Wilber/PFB]

Oklahoma State has a consensus All-American for the 21st time in program history

Ollie Gordon picked up first team All-American honors from the Football Writers Association of America and the Associated Press on Monday, giving him consensus status when combined with his first-team selection to the Walter Camp Football Foundation team last week.

Gordon might have to use some NIL money to buy a trophy case with all the accolades headed his way. Gordon won the Doak Walker Award, given to college football’s best running back, last week to go with his Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year award. He has been named an All-American by a list of outlets that is growing too long to keep up with — Pro Football Focus, The Athletic, CBS, USA Today, Sports Illustrated, Action Network and more. Gordon also came seventh in Heisman voting.

A 6-foot-1, 211-pound sophomore, Gordon is the nation’s leader in rushing yards (1,614) and yards from scrimmage (1,940). He ranks second nationally in rushing touchdowns with 20. He rushed for at least 100 yards in eight games this season, six of those games came in a row. And all of those games came in conference play, as Gordon carried only 19 times in OSU’s first three games of the year.

Gordon was particularly dominant in the month of October. His three-game stretch against Kansas, West Virginia and Cincinnati made him the only FBS player in the past 10 years to gain 250 yards from scrimmage in three straight games.

Kansas: 29 carries, 168 rushing yards, six catches, 116 receiving yards, two touchdowns
West Virginia: 29 carries, 282 rushing yards, four touchdowns
Cincinnati: 25 carries, 271 rushing yards, four catches, 21 receiving yards, two touchdowns

Oklahoma State’s Consensus All-Americans

Ollie Gordon (2023)
Chuba Hubbard (2019)
James Washington (2017)
Justin Gilbert (2013)
Justin Blackmon (2010 and 2011)
Levy Adcock (2011)
Kendall Hunter (2010)
Russell Okung (2009)
Dez Bryant (2008)
Rashaun Woods (2002)
Alonzo Mayes (1997)
Barry Sanders (1988)
Hart Lee Dykes (1988)
Thurman Thomas (1985)
Leslie O’Neal (1985)
Rod Brown (1984)
Terry Miller (1977)
Derrel Gofourth (1976)
John Ward (1969)
Bob Fenimore (1945)

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media