Connect with us


Ollie Gordon Wins Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

Another day, another award for Ollie.



[Devin Wilber/PFB]

Another award for Oklahoma State running back Ollie Gordon.

Gordon was named the winner of the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, which is awarded to the top offensive player who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Heisman Trophy winner Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity. Candidates also have to be born in Texas or played at a high school or college in Texas.

Gordon, from Euless Trinity High School in Texas, was announced as the winner Wednesday night during a banquet in Tyler, Texas. Other finalists for the award included Texas running back Jonathan Brooks, Boise State running back Ashton Jeanty, Alabama quarterback Jalen Milroe and Liberty quarterback Kaidon Salter.

Gordon joins the likes of Max Duggan, J.K. Dobbins, Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield and more as winners of the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award. He’s the first OSU player to receive the award, but receivers James Washington and Tylan Wallace were finalists in 2017 and 2018, respectively.

Gordon has now won the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, Doak Walker Award and Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year as a sophomore. He was also a unanimous All-American after leading the country in rushing yards (1,732), yards from scrimmage (2,062) and 100-yard rushing games (9). He was also second in the country with 21 touchdowns.

Gordon has announced he will return to OSU for his junior season.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media