Connect with us


Trevor Boone Named All-Big 12 First Teamer; Four Named to Second Team

Ten Cowboys were named to all-conference lists.



Oklahoma State’s season is far from over, but there’s nothing wrong with taking a beat to revel in your accomplishments.

On Wednesday night, the Cowboys are in Oklahoma City to kick off the Big 12 Tournament and further build on their postseason resume. On Tuesday, several of them were honored by the league when the all-Big 12 teams were announced, as voted by head coaches.

Trevor Boone followed his 2018 honorable mention by earning first-team honors. The junior outfielder leads the league in home runs (18) and slugging percentage (.675) and is among the top five in RBIs (46) and total bases (118) while holding a .297 batting average. Against Kansas and Texas, he dropped three “Boone bombs” each, setting an OSU record for a career with now three different games with at least three homers.

Four Cowboys were named to the conference’s second team with Jensen Elliott, Christian Funk, Andrew Navigato, and Colin Simpson being voted in.

Elliott is 8-3 as a starter this season and 5-3 in Big 12 games. His eight wins is T-1st in the league with five conference wins coming in second to only Texas Tech’s Caleb Kilian. In 81.2 innings pitched, the junior right-hander holds a 3.86 ERA.

Funk scored a Big 12 season-best six runs against Kansas. He holds a .249 batting average with 12 dingers, 40 RBIs and a team-highs in walks (37) and sac flies (6).

Navigato, the transfer from Cuesta Community College, has added 12 home runs of his own. His 27 runs scored leads the conference in league play.

Colin Simpson, also with 12 home runs, earned his third all-conference honors of his career. He was named to the second-team last season and honorable mention in 2017. The senior holds a season-long batting average of .246 and has batted in 45 runs, including a league-leading 27 in conference play.

Four Cowboy honorees rank in the top five in the Big 12 home runs: Boone, Funk, Simpson and Navigato. Those four also take up the Big 12’s top spots for home runs in league play.

Peyton Battenfield, Ben Leeper, Carson McCusker and Hueston Morrill were named honorable mentions. Morrill and Brett Standlee made the all-freshman team, as well.

All-Big 12 First Team
Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Shea Langeliers, Baylor C Jr. Keller, Texas/Keller
Nick Loftin, Baylor INF So. Corpus Christi, Texas/W.B. Ray
Davis Wendzel, Baylor INF Jr. San Clemente, Calif./Jserra Catholic
Jake Guenther, TCU INF R-Jr. Oshkosh, Wis./Sacramento City College
Josh Jung, Texas Tech INF Jr. San Antonio, Texas/MacArthur
Cameron Warren, Texas Tech INF Jr. Midwest City, Okla./Seminole State Junior College
Richard Cunningham, Baylor OF Sr. Austin, Texas/Stephen F. Austin HS
Trevor Boone, Oklahoma State OF Jr. Tulsa, Okla./Memorial
Gabe Holt, Texas Tech OF So. Bonaire, Ga./Veterans
Cade Cavalli, Oklahoma UTL So. Bixby, Okla./Bixby
Andy Thomas, Baylor DH Jr. Murrieta, Calif./Murrieta
Ryan Zeferjahn, Kansas RHP Jr. Topeka, Kan./Seaman
Nick Lodolo, TCU LHP Jr. LaVerne, Calif./Damien
Caleb Kilian, Texas Tech RHP Jr. Flower Mound, Texas, Flower Mound
Alek Manoah, West Virginia RHP Jr. Miami, Fla./South Dade Senior
Kyle Hill, Baylor RHP Sr. Corpus Christi, Texas/Calallen
Taylor Floyd, Texas Tech RHP Jr. Frisco, Texas/Grayson Community College
All-Big 12 Second Team
Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Ivan Gonzalez, West Virginia C Sr. Round Rock, Texas/Stony Point
Benjamain Sems, Kansas INF Jr. Chesterfield, Mo./Westminster Christian
Christian Funk, Oklahoma State INF Sr. Fresno, Calif./Fresno City Community College
Andrew Navigato, Oklahoma State INF Jr. Riverside, Calif./Cuesta Community College
Brian Klein, Texas Tech INF Jr. Keller, Texas/Timer Creek
Marques Inman, West Virginia INF R-Jr. Elyria, Ohio/Elyria
Cole Haring, Baylor OF Sr. Katy, Texas/McLennan Community College
Dylan Neuse, Texas Tech OF So. Fort Worth, Texas/ McLennan Community College
Darius Hill, West Virginia OF Sr. Dallas, Texas/Dallas Jesuit
Colin Simpson, Oklahoma State UTL Sr. Edmond, Okla./Memorial
Paul McIntosh, West Virginia DH So. Miami Gardens, Fla./Motlow State Community College
Jordan Wicks, K-State LHP Fr. Conway, Ark./Conway
Levi Prater, Oklahoma LHP So. Ada, Okla./Byng
Jensen Elliott, Oklahoma State RHP Jr. Coppell, Texas/Coppell
Bryce Elder, Texas RHP So. Decatur, Texas/Decatur
Jason Ruffcorn, Oklahoma RHP Jr. Cedar Park, Texas/Texas A&M
Clayton Beeter, Texas Tech RHP R-Fr. Colleyville, Texas/Birdville
Sam Kessler, West Virginia RHP Jr. Mount Sinai, N.Y./Mount Sinai


Most Read