Connect with us


Washington, Rudolph Named to Walter Camp Watch List



Mason Rudolph and James Washington can each add another watch list to their summer résumés. The Big 12’s most dynamic returning duo are candidates for the 2017 Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield was the only other Big 12 player included.

Rudolph enters his senior season with legitimate Heisman hopes and Washington is the FBS’ leading returning receiver. Along with Freshman All-American Justice Hill, the three made Oklahoma State one of just two programs to boast a 4,000-yard passer, a 1,000-yard receiver and 1,000-yard rusher. The other team was Clemson (you know, the team that won the natty.)

Here are the quarterbacks Rudolph will be up against.

Quarterbacks  Team
Josh Allen Wyoming
Jake Browning Washington
JT Barrett Ohio State
Sam Darnold USC
Luke Falk Washington State
Quinton Flowers USF
Deondre Francois Florida State
Jalen Hurts Alabama
Lamar Jackson Louisville
Baker Mayfield Oklahoma
Mason Rudolph Oklahoma State
Trace McSorley Penn State
Josh Rosen UCLA
Brett Rypien Boise State
Mike White Western Kentucky

And here are the wide receiver candidates.

Wide Receivers Team
Daniel Carlson Auburn
Quadree Henderson Pittsburgh
Billy Price Ohio State
Calvin Ridley Alabama
James Washington Oklahoma State
Mitch Wishnowsky Utah

Barry Sanders is the only Cowboy to ever win the award when he took home pretty much every award he was eligible for in 1988.

Ten semifinalists will be announced mid-way through the season and the winner will be announced on December 7. The winner is determined by FBS head coaches and sports information directors from all 128 schools.


Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media