Connect with us


Big 12 Announces Preseason Awards for Men’s Basketball

Kansas had the most players featured.



[Devin Wilber/PFB]

Preseason awards means basketball season is right around the corner.

The Big 12 announced Thursday its preseason awards for men’s basketball, including the Preseason All-Big 12 Team. The recognition is voted by Big 12 coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Oklahoma State did not have any players earn a preseason honor, while Kansas was the only program with two players on the Preseason All-Big 12 Team.

KU center Hunter Dickinson became the first player to ever earn both preseason player of the year and newcomer of the year for the Big 12. Dickinson, a transfer from Michigan, was also one of two Jayhawks on the preseason team. Teammate Dejuan Harris Jr., a guard, joined Dickinson.

The only award Dickinson didn’t garner was Big 12 Preseason Freshman of the Year, which was given to Baylor forward Ja’Kobe Walter.

The Preseason All-Big 12 Team included Dickinson, Harris, L.J. Cryer (G, Houston), Emanuel Miller (F, TCU) and Max Abmas (G, Texas). Harris, a junior, was the only player listed that’s not a senior or graduate transfer.

Honorable mentions included Jalen Bridges (Baylor), RayJ Dennis (Baylor), Ja’Kobe Walter (Baylor), Jamal Shead (Houston), Kevin McCullar Jr. (Kansas), Arthur Kaluma (Kansas State), Tylor Perry (Kansas State), Dylan Disu (Texas), Tyrese Hunter (Texas), Dillon Mitchell (Texas) and Jesse Edwards (West Virginia).

The Big 12 will announce its preseason poll on Friday. OSU’s season will start on Nov. 6 against Abilene Christian.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media