Connect with us


Defensive Freshman of the Year Kendal Daniels Highlights Cowboys’ All-Big 12 Honors

A Cowboy won Defensive Freshman of the Year in consecutive seasons.



[Devin Wilber/PFB]

The Cowboys’ Big 12 season didn’t end like they wanted but several of them were honored for their efforts by the league’s coaches.

Kendal Daniels earned Big 12 Defensive Freshman of the Year and Jason Taylor II was named an all-conference first-team selection while five Cowboys were named to the second team and 10 were given honorable mentions.

Taylor’s six interceptions are tied for most in the FBS currently and lead the Big 12. The redshirt senior also tied for the league lead in passes defended with 13, has seven pass breakups and two tackles for loss. And he leads the league and is tied for second nationally in solo tackles. Taylor was also an honorable mention for Defensive Player of the Year.

Daniels, a redshirt freshman who played in all 12 games, was a no-brainer for Defensive Freshman of the Year, leading all Big 12 freshmen in interceptions (three), tackles (69), solo tackles (43), passes defended (six) and tackles for loss (5.5). He also earned all-conference second-team honors.

Joining Daniels on the Big 12 second team are kicker Tanner Brown, linebacker Mason Cobb and defensive linemen Brock Markin and Collin Oliver. Oliver was last year’s Defensive Freshman of the Year.

First Team All-Big 12 Cowboys
Jason Taylor II – Safety

Second Team All-Big 12 Cowboys
Tanner Brown – Kicker
Mason Cobb – Linebacker
Kendal Daniels – Safety
Brock Martin – Defensive Line
Collin Oliver – Defensive Line

Honorable Mention All-Big 12 Cowboys
Tanner Brown – Special Teams Player of the Year
Tyler Lacy – Defensive Line
Jabar Muhammad – Defensive Back
Jaden Nixon – Returner, Offensive Freshman of the Year
Brennan Presley – Wide Receiver
Spencer Sanders – Quarterback
Jake Schultz – Fullback
Jake Springfield – Offensive Line
Jason Taylor II – Defensive Player of the Year
Hunter Woodard – Offensive Line

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media