Connect with us


Hubbard, Wallace Named to Maxwell Preseason Watch List

OSU is the only Big 12 school with two players on the watch list.



One Big 12 team has multiple players on the Maxwell Award watch list, and that team resides in Stillwater.

Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard and wide receiver Tylan Wallace were named to the preseason watch list for the Maxwell, given annually to college football’s most outstanding player.

The Cowboy duo are two of 90 players from across the country to make the list and two of eight to make the list from the Big 12. Baylor’s Charlie Brewer, Texas’ Sam Ehlinger, Iowa State’s Brock Purdy, Kansas’ Pooka Williams, Kansas State’s Skylar Thompson and TCU’s Max Duggan are the other Big 12 representatives on the list.

Hubbard was a semifinalist for the award in 2019, which LSU’s Joe Burrow won. Hubbard is one of six returning semifinalists for the award, joining Texas’ Sam Ehlinger, Baylor’s Charlie Brewer, Clemson’s Travis Etienne, Ohio State’s Justin Fields and SMU’s Shane Buechele.

Hubbard and Wallace have each already been seen on other preseason lists. Hubbard is on the Doak Walker watch list for the nation’s top running back, and Wallace is on the Biletnikoff watch list for the nation’s top receiver. Both are former finalists for those awards and former All-Americans.

The Maxwell Award has been given out annually since 1937. Barry Sanders won the award in 1988. Sanders is the program’s lone recipient of the award.

Semifinalists for the 2020 Maxwell will be announced Nov. 3. Finalists will be announced Nov. 23. The winner will be awarded the Maxwell on Dec. 10.

Most Read