Connect with us


Kenny Gajewski Signs Extension with Oklahoma State through 2027

OSU’s leader in three straight WCWS appearances is staying in town.



[Devin Wilber/PFB]

Kenny Gajewski made his third straight Women’s College World Series on Friday night, and Oklahoma State announced it had reached an agreement to keep Gajewski in Stillwater through the 2027 season Saturday.

In his seventh season as the Cowgirls’ coach, Gajewski is 267-119. He has led OSU to the WCWS in 2019, 2021 and now 2022 (the event wasn’t held in 2020), and this season the Cowgirls won the Big 12 Tournament with a win over Oklahoma.

“My family and I are grateful for the opportunity to continue leading the Cowgirl Softball program because from the moment we arrived in Stillwater, we knew this was home,” Gajewski said in OSU’s release. “There is a shared vision between Chad Weiberg, Dr. Kayse Shrum and myself and this is another step toward showing the national audience that softball is important here at Oklahoma State.”

Gajewksi has led the Cowgirls to three wins over the No. 1 team in the country, beating Florida in 2017 and Oklahoma the past two seasons. OSU has finished second or tied for second in the Big 12 regular season standings every year since 2018. Since 2019, the Cowgirls have a 158-46 record. OSU hasn’t missed the postseason since Gajewski took over in 2016.

The Cowgirls are awaiting the rest of the WCWS field to continue their 2022 season. They’ll play the winner of the Arizona/Mississippi State Super Regional in the first round in Oklahoma City.

“Coach Gajewski has built Cowgirl Softball into a perennial national contender”, OSU Athletic Director said in the release. “He has established Stillwater as a destination for elite softball players and model student-athletes. Consistent leadership is important to build a championship program the right way. Kenny wants to continue what he has started here and there is no one better to do so. We look forward to him leading OSU Softball for a long time”. 

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media