Connect with us


Three Cowboys named All-Big 12



Photo Attribution: USATSI

Photo Attribution: Emily Nielsen

The All-Big 12 first team was announced tonight and Marcus Smart was a unanimous selection as well as the Big 12’s pick for freshman of the year and player of the year (read about that here). Here’s the entire first team:

Marcus Smart – Oklahoma State
Ben McLemore – Kansas
Jeff Withey – Kansas
Rodney McGruder – Kansas State
Romery Osby – Oklahoma

Smart is is OSU’s first first-team selection since James Anderson in 2009-10.

I like the team. Osby probably deserved the first team nod over Markel just because he didn’t have a guy like Smart to fall back on so I have no problem with that. He was a monster all year and a 16-7 average in the Big 12 is nothing to joke about. I actually probably have a bigger problem with Pierre Jackson being left off the first team.

The second team included Markel Brown and the third team included Le’Bryan Nash. Mike Cobbins made honorable mention. This is the first time OSU has had three All-Big 12 players (first/second/third team) since 2004 when Tony Allen and John Lucas got first team and Joey Graham snagged a third team nod.

Here are some of the other awards that were handed out for the Pokes tonight:

Freshman of the year

Marcus Smart

All-Defensive team

Marcus Smart – Oklahoma State
Mike Cobbins – Oklahoma State

All-rookie team

Marcus Smart

You can see all the awards here.

The preseason All-Big 12 first team looked like this:

Pierre Jackson – Baylor
Jeff Withey – Kansas
Le’Bryan Nash – Oklahoma State
Rodney McGruder – Kansas State
Myck Kabongo – Texas

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media