Connect with us


Mason Rudolph Included on Manning Award List, Heisman Odds Rise to 20-1



Mason Rudolph is on yet another preseason award watch list. This time it’s for the Manning Award given to the top quarterback in college football. The award is sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. Rudolph is one of 30 junior and senior quarterbacks included.

Rudolph led all Power Five QBs in 2016 with a 28:4 TD-to-interception ratio and added six scores on the ground as well. In fact, Rudolph was the first player to pass for over 4,000 yards and throw less than five picks since Marcus Mariota in 2014 — the year he won the Heisman trophy. Rudolph’s set to break just about every passing record at Oklahoma State in 2017 and brings in a 22-6 record as a starter.

Speaking of the Heisman, Rudolph’s odds to win that recently went up from 15-1 to 20-1. That’s pretty interesting considering the fact that several Heisman voters are already touting him as the No. 1 guy on their board heading into the season. ?

Rudolph is also on preseason watch lists for the Maxwell Award, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, the Wuerffel Trophy and the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

Ten finalists for the Manning Award will be announced on November 30 and the winner will be announced the week after the College Football Playoff National Championship game. This is the only award that includes bowl performances as part of a player’s case for winning.

Here’s the complete watch list.

Name School
Austin Allen Arkansas
 Josh Allen Wyoming
 J.T. Barrett Ohio State
 Jake Browning Washington
 Sam Darnold USC
 Eric Dungey Syracuse
 Jacob Eason Georgia
 Luke Falk Washington State
 Riley Ferguson Memphis
 Ryan Finley N.C. State
 Nick Fitzgerald Mississippi State
 Quinton Flowers USF
 Deondre Francois Florida State
 Jalen Hurts Alabama
 Lamar Jackson Louisville
 Daniel Jones Duke
 Taylor Lamb Appalachian State
 Matt Linehan Idaho
 Drew Lock Missouri
 Baker Mayfield Oklahoma
 Trace McSorley Penn State
 Brogan Roback Eastern Michigan
 Mason Rudolph Oklahoma State
 Brett Rypien Boise State
 Brandon Silvers Troy
 Nick Stevens Colorado State
 Brent Stockstill MTSU
 Clayton Thorson Northwestern
 Mike White Western Kentucky
 Logan Woodside Toledo

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media