Connect with us


Mike Gundy’s Bedlam Win Percentage Compared to Previous OSU Coaches

Mike Gundy’s Bedlam record is the program’s median since 1950.



Oklahoma State has had 11 football coaches since 1950, and Mike Gundy’s 2-13 Bedlam record puts him smack in the middle of that group in winning percentage against Oklahoma.

The Cowboys lost to the Sooners 34-16 on Saturday night in Boone Pickens Stadium, dropping OSU to a woeful 11-58-1 against OU since 1950. Only Bob Simmons has coached OSU to more than a pair of Bedlam wins during that time.

Coach Years Coached Record Against OU Win Percentage
Dave Smith* 1972 1-0 100%
Les Miles 2001-04 2-2 50%
Bob Simmons 1995-2000 3-3 50%
Phil Cutchin 1963-68 2-4 33%
Jim Stanley 1973-78 1-5 17%
Mike Gundy 2005-present 2-13 13%
Pat Jones 1984-94 0-10-1 0%
Jimmy Johnson 1979-83 0-5 0%
Floyd Gass 1969-71 0-3 0%
Cliff Speegle 1955-62 0-8 0%
J.B. Whitworth 1950-54 0-5 0%

* Oklahoma won the 1972 Bedlam game 38-15 but later forfeited the contest, according to the media guide.

Gundy’s 15 Bedlam games are the most any OSU coach has ever coached in, dating to the rivalry’s start in 1904.

Simmons and Pappy Waldorf (1929-1933) are tied for the most wins against Oklahoma as an OSU coach with three each, which means no OSU coach has more Bedlam wins than Lincoln Riley.

Gundy’s struggles in the rivalry are well-documented, but everyone has struggled against the Sooners since Gundy started his head coaching career in 2005. Since ’05, Oklahoma is 158-41. They’re better than they’ve ever been.

If Gundy didn’t have to play Oklahoma, his coaching record would be 127-50. In terms of percentages, that .718 would trail only Waldorf (.735) in program history. With Bedlam, Gundy’s .672 is already second in program history.

Is Gundy’s record against OU poor, yes, but not many programs boast impressive records against the Sooners in the past 15 years. This is all just under a microscope because Gundy has to share a state with the crimson and cream.

Here are how the 15 Gundy Bedlams have gone.

Year Favorite Spread Location Who Won? Who Covered?
2019 Oklahoma -14 Stillwater Oklahoma Oklahoma
2018 Oklahoma -17.5 Norman Oklahoma Oklahoma State
2017 Oklahoma State -3 Stillwater Oklahoma Oklahoma
2016 Oklahoma -12 Norman Oklahoma Oklahoma
2015 Oklahoma -7.5 Stillwater Oklahoma Oklahoma
2014 Oklahoma -19.5 Norman Oklahoma State Oklahoma State
2013 Oklahoma State -10 Stillwater Oklahoma Oklahoma
2012 Oklahoma -6 Norman Oklahoma Oklahoma State
2011 Oklahoma State -3.5 Stillwater Oklahoma State Oklahoma State
2010 Oklahoma State -2.5 Stillwater Oklahoma Oklahoma
2009 Oklahoma -8 Norman Oklahoma Oklahoma
2008 Oklahoma -10 Stillwater Oklahoma Oklahoma
2007 Oklahoma -13.5 Norman Oklahoma Oklahoma
2006 Oklahoma -5.5 Stillwater Oklahoma Oklahoma
2005 Oklahoma -17.5 Norman Oklahoma Oklahoma


Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media