Connect with us


Ollie Gordon, Lexi Kilfoyl Named Big 12 Athlete of the Year Nominees

The winners will be announced Wednesday.



[Devin Wilber/PFB]

The Big 12 on Friday announced Oklahoma State’s nominees for Big 12 Athlete of the Year: Ollie Gordon and Lexi Kilfoyl. Gordon was a star on the football field this past year while Kilfoyl shined on the softball diamond.

Gordon became the first Cowboy to ever win the Doak Walker Award, given to the best running back in the country. He was also an unanimous All-American and has already received some hardware from the conference as the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year. Gordon led the nation with 1,732 rushing yards, as well as yards from scrimmage (2,062), 100-yard games (nine) and carries of at least 20 yards (21). He was second in the country with 21 rushing touchdowns.

Kilfoyl has also already received national and conference accolades as the Big 12 Pitcher of the Year and one of three finalists for USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year. She was also a consensus First Team All-American by NFCA, Softball America and D1Softball. Kilfoyl finished her senior season with a 1.20 ERA, which was the best in the Big 12. She also had a conference-leading 26 wins in the circle.

Friday was a big day for Kilfoyl, who also signed with Athletes Unlimited Pro Softball for the 2024 Championship season in Rosemont, Illinois. Kilfoyl concluded her college career with a 1.70 ERA and 70-21 record after starting her career at Alabama before transferring to OSU.

Although Kilfoyl’s days of competing in Stillwater are over, Gordon will return for his junior campaign this upcoming season. Gordon has already been named a preseason First Team All-American by Phil Steele early into preseason award season.

Fouad Messaoudi and Maddison Hinson-Tolchard were OSU’s nominees last year for Big 12 Athlete of the Year. Here’s the list of all of this year’s nominees announced so far.

Baylor – Johnny Keefer and Alexis Brown
BYU – Kenneth Rooks and Brecken Mozingo
UCF – RJ Harvey and Rayniah Jones
Cincinnati – Ty Gingerich and Juliette Laracuente-Huebner
Houston – Jamal Shead and Kelly-Ann Beckford
Iowa State – David Carr and Sydney Willits
Kansas – Clayton Simms and Camryn Turner
K-State – Cooper Beebe and Ayoka Lee
Oklahoma – Drake Stoops and Jordan Bowers

The rest of the nominees will continued to be announced, as they’ve been released in alphabetical order by school since Monday. All 14 institutions that competed in the Big 12 during 2023-24 are eligible, including Oklahoma and Texas, which will join the SEC on July 1. Each institution nominated one male and one female athlete that competed in a league-sponsored sport and were in good academic standing.

The winners of the award will be announced Wednesday.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media