Connect with us


Ollie Gordon Named Maxwell Award Semifinalist

Gordon is one of only two running backs up for the award.



[Devin Wilber/PFB]

Don’t forget that Ollie Gordon is still one of the best college football players in the country.

The Maxwell Football Club announced Monday that Gordon is one of 17 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, which is given as the Collegiate Player of the Year. Three finalists will be unveiled on Nov. 28. The winner of the award will be announced during the ESPN The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8.

Even after a 25-yard performance Saturday against UCF, Gordon still leads the country in rushing yards (1,250) and rushing yards per game (125.0). He’s already received plenty of recognition for his performances this season as a three-time Doak Walker National Running Back of the Week and four-time Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week.

Michigan’s Blake Corum is the only other running back included on the list of 17 semifinalists. The last running back to win the Maxwell Award was Alabama’s Derrick Henry in 2015. Henry was also the last running back to win the Heisman Trophy that year, as the Heisman Trophy winner usually wins the Maxwell Award, as well.

Other Big 12 semifinalist include Oklahoma quarterback Dillon Gabriel and Texas defensive tackle T’Vondre Sweat.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media