Connect with us


OSU Basketball Sophomore Donovan Williams Enters Transfer Portal

Williams started four games for the Cowboys this past season.



[Devin Wilber/PFB]

OSU’s basketball season ended just two days ago but the offseason roster reshuffling has already started.

Donovan Williams entered the transfer portal Monday. Williams appeared in nine games as a sophomore for the Cowboys’ this past season, making four starts. He averaged 3.1 points and 1.6 rebounds a game, though he last played in the Cowboys’ loss at Texas on Jan. 22.

Williams joined the Pokes as a four-star prospect out of Omaha North Star High School in Nebraska. He chose Oklahoma State over offers from Kansas State, Texas, Nebraska, Texas A&M and others. Listed at 6-foot-5, 200 pounds, Williams was hampered with a knee injury during his time in Stillwater. He played in six games as a freshman before suffering the injury.

Williams started OSU’s first two games of the 2021-22 season, scoring a career-high seven points in the Cowboys’ season opener against UT-Arlington.

It was a tumultous Cowboys career for Williams on the whole. He had to somewhat change his game after his injury to fight for minutes. After being a pure scorer at the high school level, Williams was used as a guard/forward hustle guy this past season.

As part of the Cowboys’ NCAA sanctions, OSU will lose three scholarships over the next few years. Under normal circumstances, programs are allotted 13 scholarships a season. OSU was able to use 14 this past season with Bryce Williams being a super senior.

The Cowboys’ scholarship situation is quite fluid as things stand. With Williams’ looming departure, Isaac Likekele has been undecided on whether he will return for a super senior season. OSU is also adding 2022 four-star guard Quion Williams.

But here is a look at OSU’s scholarship situation for next season as things stand:

  1. Avery Anderson
  2. Bryce Thompson
  3. Chris Harris
  4. Rondel Walker
  5. Matthew-Alexander Moncrieffe
  6. Keylan Boone
  7. Kalib Boone
  8. Tyreek Smith
  9. Woody Newton
  10. Bernard Kouma
  11. Moussa Cisse
  12. Quion Williams
  13. Isaac Likekele

Most Read