Connect with us


OSU Signee Cade Cunningham Wins Naismith High School Player of the Year

The No. 1 recruit, a McDonald’s All-American and now a Player of the Year.



Already the No. 1 player in his recruiting class, Cade Cunningham has joined the likes of Lebron James, Kobe Bryant, Dwight Howard, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber with his most recent accolade.

Cunningham was named the Naismith High School Player of the Year on Wednesday, becoming the first future Oklahoma State player to do so since the award started getting handed out in 1987. Cunningham beat out finalists Brandon Boston (Kentucky), Jalen Green (undecided), Evan Mobley (USC) and Jalen Suggs (Gonzaga).

Here are the past 10 Naismith Player of the Year winners:

Year Player
2019 Isaiah Stewart
2018 R.J. Barrett
2017 Michael Porter Jr.
2016 Lonzo Ball
2015 Ben Simmons
2014 Cliff Alexander
2013 Andrew Wiggins
2012 Shabazz Muhammed
2011 Austin Rivers
2010 Jared Sullinger

Cunningham is the eighth OSU commit to earn McDonald’s All-American honors (including Gerald Green). Rivals, 247Sports and USA Today list Cunningham as the No. 1 player in the 2020 recruiting class.

He is also the best player on the best high school team in the nation. Cunningham’s Montverde squad is 25-0 this season and will be a favorite at the GEICO Nationals in April.

Cunningham is the headliner of OSU’s top 10 recruiting class that includes Cunningham’s AAU teammates Rondel Walker (four start) and Montreal Pena (three star) as well as four-star forward Matthew-Alexander Moncrieffe.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media