Connect with us


Tylan Wallace Snubbed (Again) as Biletnikoff Award Finalist

A big snub for the OSU star.



The three finalists for the Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the nation’s top pass-catcher, were announced Tuesday morning, and Oklahoma State star Tylan Wallace did not make the cut. The list instead included Ole Miss’ Elijah Moore, Alabama’s DeVonta Smith and Florida tight end Kyle Pitts.

It’s the first time in the award’s history a tight end has been named a finalist.

Pitts’ inclusion makes for a fun story, of course, since he’s breaking norms. But it’s hard to argue he was amongst the nation’s top pass-catchers. He had 10 fewer receptions than Tylan did despite playing in two more games. He also had fewer total yards and averaged fewer yards per game.

Player Receptions YPG Yards TDs
Tylan Wallace 53 96.9 872 6
DeVonta Smith 98 137.4 1511 11
Kyle Pitts 43 96.3 770 8
Elijah Moore 86 149.1 1193 8

Playing in only six games may have ultimately hurt Wallace’s chances, but it’s still hard to ignore he was left off the list of best pass-catchers in the country considering … he’s one of the best pass-catchers in the country. It’s the second time in as many seasons he’s been snubbed after earning finalist distinction in 2018 and ultimately losing to Jerry Jeudy, whose case quite clearly paled in comparison to Wallace.

Most Read