Connect with us


Cowgirls Win Big 12 Title for First Time Since 2011 With Victory Against Texas



The game went into overtime, as it did in Oklahoma State’s most recent football trip to Austin, but the Cowgirls are Big 12 champions.

Senior star forward Anna Beffer swung in a curling cross from the right corner, and central defender Laurene Tresfield got her head to it. The ball took an almost flawless deflection off a Texas player and carried into the top right corner of the Longhorns’ net in the 100th minute, clinching a 1-0 victory and OSU’s first regular season title since 2011.

Sophomore midfielder Jaci Jones nearly ended the game in regulation with a thunderous strike that rattled off the crossbar with a little more than a minute left, her second shot off one of the posts. Minutes earlier, defender Kim Rodriguez fired one that was saved. Haley Woodard was there to clean it up but missed the chance.

OSU finished regulation having outplayed UT, at least by the stats comparison with more shots and corner kicks.

Shots 15 13
Saves 4 5
Corners 6 3
Fouls 7 9

In every season since OSU’s last conference title, West Virginia has taken the crown. In fact, the Cowgirls and the Mountaineers have won either the regular season title or the tournament every year since 2008.

The Cowgirls finished the regular season 15-2-2, their best finish since that magical 2011 season when they finished with 27 wins. They will now go on to the Big 12 Tournament on Wednesday in Kansas City, Missouri.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media