Connect with us


Justin Blackmon Named to the 2024 College Football Hall of Fame Class

The greatest wide receiver in college football history is now a hall of famer.



[Devin Wilber/PFB]

The greatest receiver in college football history is headed to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Justin Blackmon was one of 19 players inducted into the 2024 College Football Hall of Fame Class. Playing for Oklahoma State in 2009, 2010 and 2011, Blackmon won two Biletnikoff Awards, given to the best receiver in college football. Michael Crabtree is the only other player to win two. Blackmon finished his OSU career with 253 catches for 3,564 yards and 40 touchdowns. Blackmon is the only two-time unanimous All-American selection in OSU’s history.

Blackmon’s legacy is intertwined with OSU’s 2011 season — thought of by many as the greatest season in program history. OSU went 12-1 that season, winning a Big 12 title and beating Stanford in the Fiesta Bowl. Blackmon caught 122 passes for 1,522 yards and 18 touchdowns in 2011. In the Fiesta Bowl (his last college game), Blackmon caught eight passes for 186 yards and three touchdowns. The Jacksonville Jaguars took Blackmon with the No. 5 pick in the 2012 NFL Draft.

His 20 receiving touchdowns in 2010 rank tops in a season in program history, and his 18 the next season rank third. His 1,782 receiving yards in 2010 are also the best in program history. For his career, Blackmon ranks second in receptions, third in receiving yards and second in receiving touchdowns in OSU history.

Blackmon becomes the eighth representative with OSU ties in the College Football Hall of Fame — joining Lynn “Pappy” Waldorf (inducted in 1966), Bob Fenimore (inducted in 1972), Barry Sanders (inducted in 2003), Thurman Thomas (inducted in 2008), Jimmy Johnson (inducted in 2012), Leslie O’Neal (inducted in 2020) and Terry Miller (inducted in 2022).

The class will formally be inducted during the 66th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by Las Vegas on December 10 at Bellagio Resort & Casino.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media