Connect with us


Leslie O’Neal Included on Ballot for 2019 Induction into College Football Hall of Fame



Former Oklahoma State defensive lineman Leslie O’Neal, one of the most disruptive forces of his generation off the edge as a pass-rusher, is among the candidates listed on the 2019 ballot for entry into the College Football Hall of Fame.

O’Neal was included on the ballot last season but not voted in.

A two-time All-American pass-rusher at OSU, O’Neal earned three All-Big Eight selections and was named the 1984 Defensive Player of the Year. O’Neal also had an illustrious pro career where he spent 13 seasons in the NFL, primary with the San Diego Chargers. He was a Pro-Bowler six times, and finished his NFL career following the 1999 season with 136.0 sacks.

O’Neal left OSU as the school leader in career sacks (34) and single season sacks (16).

The announcement of the 2019 Class will be made Monday, Jan. 7, 2019 in Santa Clara, Calif., the host city for the CFP National Championship. O’Neal’s inclusion would be a boon for Oklahoma State, which is represented in the Hall of Fame by the likes of Lynn “Pappy” Waldorf (inducted in 1966), Bob Fenimore (inducted in 1972), Barry Sanders (inducted in 2003), Thurman Thomas (inducted in 2008) and coach Jimmy Johnson (inducted in 2012).

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media