Connect with us


OSU Does Not Have Preseason AP All-American For First Time Since 2018

OSU went 7-6 in 2018.



[Photo via Bruce Waterfield/OSU Athletics]

For the first time since the 2018 preseason, Oklahoma State does not have any representatives on the Associated Press preseason All-American football team, which was released on Monday. The OSU exclusion ends a streak of two consecutive seasons.

OSU being left off the list entirely speaks to some of the star power it lost this offseason when Chuba Hubbard and Tylan Wallace, both preseason All-Americans a year ago, left for the NFL. It also emphasizes just how much of an unknown this team is on the whole. OSU is replacing its top receiver and rusher on offense, and while it returns much of its defensive unit that last season ranked top-20 nationally, players like Tre Sterling, Kolby Harvell-Peel and Trace Ford did not make the cut.

This 2021 OSU football team does indeed have some similarities with that 2018 team that did not have any AP preseason All-Americans. OSU is picked fourth this preseason in the Big 12 and in 2018, it was picked to finish fifth. There were some good moments that season — including two wins over top-10 teams at Boone Pickens Stadium — but that team finished 7-6, narrowly defeating Missouri in the Liberty Bowl to avoid a losing record.

Preseason All-American First Team


Quarterback — Spencer Rattler, sophomore, Oklahoma.
Running backs —- Breece Hall, junior, Iowa State; Bijan Robinson, sophomore, Texas.
Tackles — Evan Neal, junior, Alabama; Kenyon Green, junior, Texas A&M.
Guards — Cain Madden, senior, Notre Dame; Zion Johnson, senior, Boston College.
Center — Tyler Linderbaum, junior, Iowa.
Tight end — Charlie Kolar, senior, Iowa State.
Wide receivers — Chris Olave, senior, Ohio State; Justyn Ross, junior, Clemson.
All-purpose player — Kyren Williams, sophomore, Notre Dame.
Kicker — Cade York, junior, LSU.


Ends — Kayvon Thibodeaux, junior, Oregon; DeMarvin Leal, junior, Texas A&M.
Tackles —- Haskell Garrett, super senior, Ohio State; Bryan Bresee, sophomore, Clemson.
Linebackers — Will Anderson Jr., sophomore, Alabama; Nik Bonitto, junior, Oklahoma; Mike Rose, senior, Iowa State.
Cornerbacks — Derek Stingley, Jr., junior, LSU; Ahmad Gardner, junior, Cincinnati.
Safeties — Kyle Hamilton, junior, Notre Dame; Brandon Joseph, sophomore, Northwestern.
Punter — Jake Camarda, senior, Georgia.

Preseason All-American Second Team


Quarterback — Sam Howell, junior, North Carolina.
Running backs — Mohamed Ibrahim, senior, Minnesota; Isaiah Spiller, junior, Texas A&M.
Tackles — Thayer Munford, senior, Ohio State; Darian Kinnard, senior, Kentucky.
Guards — Jamaree Salyer, senior, Georgia; Emil Ekiyor, junior, Alabama.
Center — Jarrett Patterson, junior, Notre Dame.
Tight end — Jalen Wydermyer, junior, Texas A&M.
Wide receivers — Garrett Wilson, junior, Ohio State; John Metchie III, junior, Alabama.
All-purpose player — Jerrion Ealy, junior, Mississippi.
Kicker — Anders Carlson, senior, Auburn.


Ends — Aidan Hutchinson, senior, Michigan; George Karlaftis, junior, Purdue.
Tackles — Jordan Davis, senior, Georgia; Dante Stills, senior, West Virginia.
Linebackers — Devin Lloyd, super senior Utah; Christian Harris, junior, Alabama; Micah McFadden, senior, Indiana.
Cornerbacks — Kaiir Elam, junior, Florida; Tiawan Mullen, junior, Indiana.
Safeties — Jalen Catalon, redshirt sophomore, Arkansas; Jaquan Brisker, super senior, Penn State.
Punter — Lou Hedley, senior, Miami.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media