Connect with us


Teel, Kroon Lead Way for OSU in Big 12 Postseason Awards



The Cowboys bounced back from a down 2016-17 season by rattling off a 16-8 Big 12 record. They stumbled a bit down the stretch, which cost them a regular season conference title, but they carry a No. 2 seed into the Big 12 Tournament this week and are primed for an exciting postseason run.

To the victors go the spoils. In this case, several Cowboys were honored when the Big 12 regular awards were announced on Tuesday.

To lead the way, junior college transfer Matt Kroon was named the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year as well as earning all-conference second team honors. Kroon came in second on the team in both batting average (.296) and home runs (11) and led the Cowboys in hits (58), runs (52), doubles (17), stolen bases (14) and on-base percentage (.420).

Carson Teel, the Cowboys’ ace left-hander was the sole Poke to earn first-team honors after his 7-3 season. He was fourth in the league with 81 strikeouts and ninth in opponent batting average at .256.

Colin Simpson’s 18 home runs helped earn him second-team honors along with Kroon, Michael Neustifter and Jon Littell.

Peyton Battenfield, Trevor Boone, Christian Funk, Joe Lienhard, Carson McCusker, C.J. Varela were all-conference honorable mentions.

The Cowboys get started in the Big 12 Tournament on Wednesday at 4:00 p.m. in Oklahoma City when they face West Virginia.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media