Connect with us

Daily Bullets

The Evening Post – 12.1.10



Here are this year’s All-Big XII teams:

Award Winners
Offensive Player of the Year: WR Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State
Defensive Player of the Year: CB Prince Amukamara, Nebraska
Coach of the Year: Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
Offensive Freshman of the Year: QB Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
Co-Defensive Freshmen of the Year: DB Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma and LB Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State
Offensive Lineman of the Year: OT Nate Solder, Colorado
Defensive Lineman of the Year: DE Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma
Special Teams Player of the Year: K Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State
Newcomer of the Year: LB Lavonte David, Nebraska

First team Offense
QB: Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State
RB: Kendall Hunter, Oklahoma State and DeMarco Murray, Oklahoma
FB: Bryant Ward, Oklahoma State
WR: Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State; Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma; Jeff Fuller, Texas A&M
TE: Michael Egnew, Missouri
OL: Nate Solder, Colorado; Tim Barnes, Missouri; Levy Adcock, Oklahoma State; Ricky Henry, Nebraska; Eric Mensik, Oklahoma
PK: Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State
KR/PR: William Powell, Kansas State

First Team Defense
DL: Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma; Pierre Allen, Nebraska; Sam Acho, Texas; Aldon Smith, Missouri; Jared Crick, Nebraska
LB: Von Miller, Texas A&M; Lavonte David, Nebraska; Orie Lemon, Oklahoma State
DB: Quinton Carter, Oklahoma; Jimmy Smith, Colorado; Eric Hagg, Nebraska; Prince Amukamara, Nebraska; Andrew McGee, Oklahoma State
P: Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

Second Team Offense
QB: Robert Griffin III, Baylor
RB: Daniel Thomas, Kansas State; Roy Helu Jr, Nebraska
FB: Trey Millard, Oklahoma
WR: Kendall Wright, Baylor; Niles Paul, Nebraska; T.J. Moe, Missouri
TE: Collin Franklin, Iowa State
OL: Zach Kendall, Kansas State; Danny Watkins, Baylor; Matt Allen, Texas A&M; Lonnie Edwards, Texas Tech; Ben Lamaak, Iowa State
PK: Alex Henery, Nebraska
KR/PR: Niles Paul, Nebraska

Second Team Defense
DL: Colby Whitlock, Texas Tech; Phil Taylor, Baylor; Ugo Chinasa, Oklahoma State; Jacquies Smith, Missouri; Cameron Meredith, Nebraska
LB: Travis Lewis, Oklahoma; Jake Knott, Iowa State; Emmanuel Acho, Texas
DB: Alfonzo Dennard; Nebraska; Aaron Williams, Texas; Leonard Johnson, Iowa State; Coryell Judie, Texas A&M; Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State; Curtis Brown, Texas
P: Alex Henery, Nebraska

And my thoughts…

  • It’s weird that Blackmon is the first WR to be conference player of the year. With Rashaun, Crabtree, Maclin, Shipley, and Dez there have been some unbelievable wide receivers and a kid with 30 catches the previous season is the first one of all of them to win POY. Wow.
  • The dirty little secret of OSUs season this year is that it probably wouldn’t have happened if Orie hadn’t ripped his knee up last year. Good for him for coming all the way back.
  • It’s funny when kickers win awards. You go from Dez in 2008 as the Special Teams Player of the Year, who is, literally one of the most athletic human beings in college football history to Dan Bailey and his duck-taped hunter-orange shoes. Weird.
  • Thought this tweet about the 1st team was funny.
  • Prince Amukamara got thrown at 40 times this year for 11 catches. Blackmon had 5 of them.
  • How fast did T-Magic go from “he’s the reincarnation of Eric Crouch and going to be the first frosh to ever win the Heisman” to “barely got honorable mention votes for All-Big XII QB”? Was it faster than Bo Pelini dropped an F-bomb on him after he found about the phone call to his dad at halftime?
  • It’s going to be fun to have Shaun Lewis for the next 3 years. Really fun. Also, I can guarantee you Justin Gilbert will win the Special Teams POY before his career is over.
  • Feel bad for Jay Finley. He’s really good and had a great senior year but the league was ridiculously deep at RB this year.
  • Paging Cyrus Gray…

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media