Connect with us


Glenn Spencer was left off coordinator of the year list

Why is Duke’s coordinator on here, again?



I don’t do postseason awards not named “Heisman” or “Biletnikoff.” I used to do the Ray Guy but since our punter is new a Jack in the Box meal shy of weighing more than Mike Cobbins, I might have to reconsider that as well.

All that being said, Glenn Spencer might be getting snubbed for one of the assistant of the year awards:

So who, exactly, are the candidates for assistant of the year? And how good are they? Because Glenn Spencer has been pretty dang good.

Here’s how each coordinator’s team ranks in points per drive (thru 11/23 games).

Offensive coordinators

Rhett Lashlee (Auburn) — 20th
Philip Montgomery (Baylor) — 3rd
Kurt Roper (Duke) — 40th

Defensive coordinators

Jeremy Pruitt (FSU) — 2nd
Pat Narduzzi (Michigan St.) — 1st

I get that you can’t put every single coordinator on here and this is a really solid list but I think the part that irks is how handily Spencer just handled Montgomery’s offense.

It’s a season-long award, of course, but Spencer’s defense is currently sixth in points per drive (up from 46th last year) with basically the same squad.

Most Read

Copyright © 2011- 2023 White Maple Media