Connect with us


Marcus Smart is a preseason AP All-American

Marcus Smart has a chance to do something no Oklahoma State player has ever done.



He’s the only player to be unanimously selected by all 65 media members who voted. Since 1948 here’s the list of Cowboys who have ended the season as first-team AP All-Americans:


That’s right, zero.

James Anderson was second team in 2010. First team was DeMarcus Cousins, Wesley Johnson, Scottie Reynolds, Evan Turner, and John Wall.

Joey Graham was third team in 2005. First team was Andrew Bogut, JJ Redick, Chris Paul, Wayne Simien, and Hakim Warrick.

John Lucas was third team in 2004. First team was Josh Childress, Ryan Gomes, Jameer Nelson, Emeka Okafor, and Lawrence Roberts.

Country was third team in 1995 and 1994. Ed O’Bannon, Shawn Respert, Joe Smith, Jerry Stackhouse, and Damon Stoudamire was the 1995 first team. Grant Hill, Donyell Marshall, Jason Kidd, Glenn Robinson, and Clifford Rozier was the 1994 team.

Byron Houston was second team in 1992. First team was a joke. Shaq, Alonzo Mourning, Harold Miner (Baby Jordan), Christian Laettner, and Jim Jackson.

The immortal Bob Mattick was third team in 1954. Bob Pettit was first team that year.

Gale McCarthur was second team in 1951. Bob Harris was second team in 1949. AL Bennett was third team in 1948.

Good luck, Marcus.

Most Read