Connect with us


Spencer Sanders Included On Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

Sanders is now on three major award watch lists.



[Devin Wilber/PFB]

Oklahoma State quarterback Spencer Sanders has found himself on yet another preseason award watch list.

Sanders on Friday was announced as one of 52 players to watch for this year’s Walter Camp Player of the Year award. He is one of nine Big 12 players on the list.

Sanders was previously added to the watch list for the Davey O’Brien Award (given to the nation’s top QB) and the Maxwell Award (given to college football’s Most Outstanding Player). He was also the Big 12’s preseason selection at quarterback for 2022 after earning All-Conference First-Team honors a year ago.

In 2021, Sanders ranked among the Top 3 in the league in passing yards and passing TDs, and led all Big 12 quarterbacks in rushing, while captaining his team to a 12-2 finish, a conference championship berth, and a historic comeback win in the Fiesta Bowl over Notre Dame.

With two years of eligibility still remaining, Sanders is among the Top 10 in passing yards at OSU. At 24 career victories as a starter, he’s just nine wins away from usurping Mason Rudolph as the all-time winningest Cowboys QB.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year has been awarded to the Player of the Year annually since 1967. Barry Sanders (1988) is the only Oklahoma State player to take home the trophy.

The Walter Camp Foundation will whittle its list down to 10 semifinalists in mid-November winner being announced at the ESPN College Football Awards in December.

Several of Sanders’ teammates have also made preseason award watchlists: Dominic RichardsonBrennan Presley, Collin OliverBrock MartinHunter Woodard and Tom Hutton.

Most Read